The Temple Historic Preservation Committee will hold a reception honoring The Hub building as the latest recipient of a Temple Historic Marker. The reception will be held on Friday, March 1st at 5:00 p.m., at The Hub, located at 7 S. 2nd Street in Downtown Temple.
The two-story building was originally built as a harness shop in 1901 and is joined by historic buildings on either side. Over time, the building has housed many different businesses including the Lutheran Service Center, Texas National Guard, and Casey’s Furniture.
Located in the heart of downtown Temple, The Hub located to a renovated 22,000 square foot, turn of the century building featuring brick walls, stamped tin ceilings, columns and wood and concrete floors. Renovations began in 2016 with the exterior updated and repaired to keep the Romanesque Revival style arched windows typical of the period. Interior renovation included removing stucco to expose original beautiful brick walls and removing dropped ceilings to expose taller ceilings featuring stamped tin panels. Current building owners, Pam and Joe Shepperd, along with managing partner, Holley Gosh, have brought unique and interesting shops into downtown with this amazing renovated space and invite you to see this gorgeous space at the Temple Historic Marker presentation.
The historic marker program is designed to recognize historically significant structures and organizations and to encourage preservation and restoration in the city. For a property or organization to be considered for a Temple Historic Marker, the property owner must apply with supporting documentation to the Historic Preservation Committee.
Anyone interested in learning more about The Hub or the Temple Historic Marker Program is encouraged to attend. Please RSVP by calling the Temple Visitor Center at 298-5900.